3rd August 2019
EP Report

The government is planning to shut 107 power plants, mostly costly oil-fired units, to replace those with low-cost coal-fired power plants by 2041.


The power division has already prepared a retirement plan of the power plants. As per the plan, some 13 power plants having a combined capacity to generate 594MW of electricity will be shut in 2019.


“We have already prepared a list of 113 power plants with a power generation capacity of 12,550MW of electricity. These plants will be replaced by more efficient power plants by 2041,” an official of the power division said.


The government is planning to take the country’s power generation capacity to 60,000MW from low coal-fired power plants by 2041, the official said.


The existing oil-fired power plants have become a burden as the electricity production cost from those costly power plants have reached Tk 6893.61 crore in the first 11 months of the immediate past fiscal.

leave a comment

Create Account

If you have already registered , please log in

Log In Your Account

Download The Anniversay 2018